Main content

Top content

Prizes for Good Academic Teaching

Award 2022

This year, the Hans Mühlenhoff Award 2022 for good academic teaching goes to Osnabrück ethicist Prof. Dr. Rainer Mühlhoff (center, with bouquet of flowers). The junior researcher award of the same name goes to sociologist Dr. Philipp Schäfer (not in the picture). Congratulations! The awards ceremony took place on Thursday, June 16, at 6 p.m. in the Bohnenkamp House in the Botanical Garden.


The next Hans Mühlenhoff Awards ceremony will take place on June 15, 2023.

Next Event

The prizes for good academic teaching will be adwarded on June 15, 2023!


Here you can find an overview of all nominees (PDF, 82 kB) (in German) for the Hans Mühlenhoff Awards 2022.

At this point we congratulate all teachers on their nomination!

Two Prizes for Academic Teaching – Why?

In awarding these prizes, the university and the Hans Mühlenhoff Foundation would like to underline how important good academic teaching is for students trying to complete their studies in a timely fashion and earn high-quality degrees. Since last year, in addition to the prize for good academic teaching, the university has also been awarding the Young Academics Prize for Good Academic Teaching as a way of promoting young researchers in particular. The Hans Mühlenhoff Prize is endowed with 3,000 euros; the Hans Mühlenhoff Young Academics Prize with 1.500 euros.

Osnabrück University students nominate a young academic or a professor who they believe

  • integrates their research into courses
  • structures their courses well
  • uses up-to-date research in their courses
  • has an exceptional teaching profile
  • can explain complex content
  • identifies interdisciplinary contexts
  • makes a connection to professional life
  • makes practical use of modern media and teaching materials
  • provides good advice, feedback and supervision
  • offers creative methods of examination
  • is open to discussion and learning

The winner is selected by a jury consisting of students who are experienced tutors which is chaired by the Vice President for Academic Program Development and Teaching Prof. Dr. Martina Blasberg-Kuhnke.

Previous Award Winners

2021No Award
2020Prof. Dr. Hedwig Gasteiger (Mathematics), Dr. Flora Sonsmann (Human Sciences), 20 nominees
2019Prof. Dr. Martina Juhnke-Kubitzke (Mathematics/Computer Science), Dr. Frank Wolff (Social and Cultural Sciences), 24 nominees
2018Prof. Dr. Mary-Rose McGuire (Law), 23 nominees
2017Assistant Professor Dr. Marco Beeken (Biology/Chemistry), 15 nominees
2016Andrew Jones (English & American Studies) und Prof. Dr. Hans Reuter (Chemistry), 25 nominees
2015Dr. Dominique Remy (Biology), 15 nominees
2014Prof. Dr. Bärbel Schmidt (Clothing and Textiles Studies), 18 nominees
2013Roswitha Papenhausen (Language and Literary Studies/Latin), 16 nominees
2012Prof. Dr. Eva Gläser (Elementary Social Studies and Science), 20 nominees
2011Prof. Dr. Susanne Haberstroh (Psychology), 22 nominees
2010Prof. Dr. Heike Jochum (Law), 19 nominees
2009Honorarprofessor Dr. Hans-Wolf Sievert (Economics), 23 nominees
2008Assistant Professor Dr. Till Eggers (Biology), 23 nominees
2007Eike-Christian Hornig (Political Science), 24 nominees
2006No Award
2005No Award
2004Prof. Dr. Oliver Vornberger (Computer Science), Dr. Joachim Erdmann (Business Law), Dr. Annette Clamor (European Studies – Cultural Studies), PD Dr. Martin Papenheim (Cultural History)
2003Prof. Dr. Ralf Kleinfeld (Social Sciences), Prof. Dr. Joachim Härtling (Geography), Ulrike Weyland (Vocational and Business Education)
2002Prof. Dr. Winfried Bruns (Mathematics), Dr. Ute Schmid (Systems Science)
2001Dr. Manfred Rolfes (Geography) und Sönke Iwersen (Economics)

Contact Person

Daniela Räuwer

Tel.: +49 541 969-6141

Raum: 13/E07
Kommunikation und Marketing
Neuer Graben 29/Schloss
49074 Osnabrück