Main content

Top content

The ERASMUS Program

Erasmus+ with Partner Countries

Exchanges with countries outside the European Union (EU)

The ERASMUS university exchange program, one of the great success stories of the European Union, has been promoting the cross-border mobility of students, university lecturers and university staff in Europe since 1987. To date, around two and a half million students and almost 250,000 professors and lecturers have spent time abroad under this program.
The Erasmus+ program has a total budget of €14.7bn for its seven-year budget period (2014-2020). It is divided into the following three key action areas: individual learning mobility, cooperation in promoting the innovation and exchange of good practice, and support for policy reforms.

Erasmus+ key action area 1 "Individual Learning Mobility" supports the following mobility projects:

Student Exchanges (SMS) 

Placements abroad for students and graduates (SMP)

Staff mobility (STA)

Personnel Mobility (STT)

The following European countries participate in ERASMUS: the 28 EU countries, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Turkey and the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia. Places at Osnabrück University


Each higher education institution which wants to participate in the ERASMUS program, needs a valid Erasmus Charta for Higher Education.
The EU Commission awarded the Erasmus Charta for Higher Education to Osnabrück University which certifies that a higher education institution fulfills all requirements for successful participation in the ERASMUS program.

Erasmus Charta für Hochschulbildung (ECHE)  

European Policy Statement (EPS)

This project is funded by the European Commission. This publication [notification] reflects the views of the author; the Commission is not liable for any use which may be made of the information contained herein.

For further information and advice on Erasmus+ mobility, please contact the International Office or the German Academic Exchange Service. General information on the Erasmus+ program can be found on the Websites of the European Commission.